Real Madrid dominates the 20 players shortlisted for the Best FIFA Men’s Player award 2017.

One of the surprise names on the list is Barcelona captain Andres Iniesta as he only made 13 league starts for Barcelona as a result of problems with injuries.

The current holder of the award Cristiano Ronaldo, Neymar, Paulo Dybala and Buffon are the expected names that made the list.

The top scorer in the English Premier League last season Harry Kane also makes the list even though Tottenham ended the season with no trophy.

Real Madrid defenders Marcelo and Dani Carvajal are included in the list after their strong showing in the league and Champions league.

The other players from the EPL are Zlatan Ibrahimovic, N’Golo Kante, Alexis Sanchez and Eden Hazard.

The list was put together by a panel that includes Maradona, Puyol, Van Der Sar, Cafu and Okocha.

The final shortlist of 3 players will be released before a vote is conducted by coaches, national team captains and media representatives



Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Borussia Dortmund)

Leonardo Bonucci (AC Milan, Juventus in 2016-17)

Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus)

Dani Carvajal (Real Madrid)

Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid)

Paulo Dybala (Juventus)

Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid)

Eden Hazard (Chelsea)

Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Free agent, Manchester United in 2016-17)

Andres Iniesta (Barcelona)

Harry Kane (Tottenham)

N’Golo Kante (Chelsea)

Toni Kroos (Real Madrid)

Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich)

Marcelo (Real Madrid)

Lionel Messi (Barcelona)

Luka Modric (Real Madrid)

Keylor Navas (Real Madrid)

Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich)

Neymar (Paris Saint-Germain, Barcelona in 2016-17)

Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid)

Alexis Sanchez (Arsenal)

Luis Suarez (Barcelona)

Arturo Vidal (Bayern Munich)